The events of this period are known only from ancient myths and legends passed down through oral tradition.


I. Namahe no Seiso (Time of Pure Glory)

    This is a legendary golden age when humans lived in harmony with the spirits and all were prosperous and at peace. It is supposed to have lasted 12,611 years.



    While the origin and duration of this period are also based purely on oral tradition, however the fact that it occurred and how it ended is factual.


II. Danatsu no Seiso (Time of the Oppression)

    The legends state that a race of demons known as the Akuna no Bokun (Demon Tyrants) or the Hakugai-sha (Oppressors) came out of the north and overran the land and enslaved the humans and used them both for labour and as food. This period is said to have lasted 1650 years.


III. Gokai Taisan (Great Heroic Wars)

    In time, the humans rose up and challenged their evil masters and after a long struggle spanning several generations (124 years), drove them out.  This epic struggle, known as the Gokai Taisen (Great Heroic War) is the subject of the bulk of the current Zaidanese legends and folk tales. Each of the noble clans traces their descent back to some hero of that great struggle.



    The recorded history of Zaidan begins with the victory over the Hakugai-sha, and thus the events of the following periods are better known. While much of what is supposed to have occurred in this period is factual, much is in fact entirely legendary as well.


IV. Sheinaru Miko no Zaii (Reign of the Sacred Priestesses): 1 -362

    In the period after the expulsion of the Akuna no Bokun, the land was ruled by a series of Sacred Priestesses (Sheinaru Miko) chosen by the leaders of the major cults. This was a period of general peace and growing prosperity as the population slowly recovered from the devastation of both long liberation struggle and the centuries of slavery that preceded it.

IVa. Sogo no Yusei (Sogo Ascendency): 254-315

    This system worked well for roughly 250 years, but eventually the Sogo clan (now extinct) managed to arrange to have its daughters selected for the position, and take effective control of the government. They did so without holding any specific title, rather the clan head ruled from behind the scenes until eventually the Sheinaru Miko were reduced to nothing more than mouthpieces for.

IVb. Funso no Toshi (Years of Conflict): 315-362

    Eventually the Sogo were overthrown and thereafter the various clans struggled to install girls from their clans on the throne and rule through them. This rivalry eventually led to open fighting and the land became increasingly chaotic with Sacred Priestesses being enthroned and dethroned in rapid succession.

·         Note: The office of Sheinaru Miko continues to this day, its holder being the titular head of the Zaidanese religion, to whom the various sects pay a small tribute. While the position is one of great honour, it has little real power or influence.


V. Sesho no Zaii (Reign of the Regents): 362-535

    Eventually Hashimoto Oda, who held the office of Daikomon (Chief Advisor), led a popular revolt and seized power and put an end to the chaos. The office of Daikomon became effectively hereditary in the Hashimoto clan and they ruled for 115 years after which time they lost control of the office.

Va. Kōho no sensō (Wars of the Contenders): 477-535

    Once again the land descended into chaos as the rival clan Lords contended to control the office.

·         Note: The office of Daikomon still exists, but it is now the title of the chief advisor to the Sheinaru Miko on religious affairs. It is generally held by the High Priest of whichever sect hold the office of Sheinaru Miko.



VI. Kashikoi no Gikai no Tochi (Rule of the Wise Council): 535-683

    In the Year of the Great Reform (535)  Mori Yuudai defeated the reigning Daikomon, Tanaka Manabu, and rather than assume the office himself he instituted the Kashikoi Gikai (Council of the Wise) to govern the land.

VIa. Daijin no Shihai (Domination of the Chief Ministers): 615-683

    The Council was soon pushed to the background and its chief officer; the Daijin (Chief Minister) assumed control. Once again the land descended into strife as the various clans contended for control of the new ruling office.

·         Note: The Wise Council is also still in existence, it now consists of the Sheinaru Miko, the High Priest of the Kiishi sect, and the three wizards. The Council now concerns itself with the protection of the land against magical or other-worldly threats, and the possibility of the return of the Oppressors.


VII. Tai Henkan Funso (The Great Restoration Conflict): 683-696

    In the Year of the Restoration (683), the Council of the Wise was overthrown by a coup d’état led by the Sheinaru Miko which ignited a savage 13 year period of near continuous war from which the Abe clan emerged victorious.



VIII. Dai Kunshu no Toshi (Years of the Overlords): 696-827

    This period was marked by a single clan establishing control over most, if not all of. There are four distinct phases to the period.

·         Note: While the title of Dai Kunshu no longer holds any power, it is still used as an honorific on occasion by the Lords of the clans who once held sway over the land, particularly by the Oshiro clan of Akiota.

VIIIa. Abe no Yusei (Abe Ascendency): 696 -738

    With the Abe victory, all pretence of ruling in the name of the Sheinaru Miko was dropped and Abe Takashi proclaimed himself Dai Kunshu (Great Lord) and ruled in his own right as a military dictator. Lacking any sacerdotal legitimacy, the Abe rule was a tenuous one, marked by repeated revolts and coup attempts by other clan Lords.

VIIIb. Tobsei-cho Jidai (East and West Court Period): 738-794

    In Year the Land Divided (738) the Abe were overthrown and the land was divided into two realms, with the Ogawa clan ruling in the east and the Oshiro clan ruling in the west.

VIIIc. Ogawa no Yusei (Ogawa Ascendency): 794-823

    In the Year the Land Reunited (794) the Ogawa clan defeated the Oshiro clan and established itself as the sole ruler.

VIIId. Yamashita no Yusei (Yamashita Ascendency): 823-827

    In the Year of the Victorious Dragons (823) Yamashita Norio rebelled and defeated the Ogawa and established himself as Dai Kunshu, but his tenure was brief as he was assassinated in The Year of the Slaying (827).


IX. Kyogo Ryoshu no Toshi (Years of the Contending Lords): 827-903

    After the assassination of Yamashita Norio the land was without any central governing authority and the clans fought amongst themselves for supremacy. This constant strife lasted for 76 years until the Year of the White Hart (903) when a relative peace was established between the five leading clans.


X. Go Do Kunshu Jidai (Five District Lords Period): 903 - Present

    This is the current era, where the chaos of the previous years has settled into the uneasy peace between the five Saiko (Paramount Lords) each ruling one of the traditional districts, marked only by intermittent skirmishes. This situation has lasted 48 years, but tensions have been mounting.



    The game starts at the beginning of the 951st year since the final expulsion of the Oppressors.